Heine’s summer trips produced the basis for his four volumes of REISEBILDER (1826-31)

June 29, 2016 § Leave a comment

“Heine’s summer trips produced the basis for his four volumes of REISEBILDER (1826-31), a combination of autobiography, social criticism, and literary debate”. Let me write a London record of autobiography, social criticism and literary debate. Too often in London I seem trapped in a vice of work and family life that renders my pen dry. I cannot keep waiting for my trips to Europe to get my voice working again—easier said than done, however. My osmosis has not been working for more than three years; it will be the glory of this year if I can get the old thing working again.
Reisebilder
Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Heine’s summer trips produced the basis for his four volumes of REISEBILDER (1826-31) at The Struggle to Stay Married.

meta

