Oh now suddenly I yearn to be back in Berlin! To be drinking in the Irish Pub under where the Romantisches Café used to be

November 12, 2016 § Leave a comment

Oh now suddenly I yearn to be back in Berlin! To be drinking in the Irish Pub under where the Romantisches Café used to be, where Anita Berber and Tucholsky and all the other writers and artists and actresses and sex dancers used to drink, to be checking into the Boulevard Hotel opposite Wertheims, to be enjoying a ’Mata Hari’ Salad in Dresslers, to be reading my Guardian in the Café Am Zoo, to be renewing my acquaintance with Franz von Stuck’s Tilla Durieux as Circe, Viktor Mullers’s Salome, Adolph Menzel’s mysterious Altars, Hans Makart’s Summerhouse in the Alte National Galerie. A nascent London comeback has gone cold already. Angel the delicious Soho Esmeralda I have been resisting for so long, I finally went back to only to be told she has gone and ‘won’t be returning’. I yearn to see Angelica in Berlin again, even though the last encounter just left me feeling sad and depressed. This time I will check out Ciro and Mazurka.
Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Oh now suddenly I yearn to be back in Berlin! To be drinking in the Irish Pub under where the Romantisches Café used to be at Casanova (Lost Wanderings) 2006-2007.

meta

