I always laugh in the Ciné ABC at the signs saying optimistically “New films every Wednesday!”

November 28, 2016 § 2 Comments

I always laugh in the Ciné ABC, at the signs saying optimistically “New films every Wednesday!” Well, yes, new in the sense that they are different from what was on the day before, but not strictly “new” when they are all from the 1970s! On this occasion it was Woman in Love: A Story of Madame Bovary from 1978 with a very beautiful Laurien Dominique. “Flaubert once described literature as ‘the dissection of a beautiful woman with her guts in her face, her leg skinned, and half a burned-out cigar lying on her foot.’ So he takes this young woman who is innocent to the ways of the world and throws some kinks into all of her dreams and plans. He makes her ‘real.’ We can see and feel what’s going on in the story. At the same time, though, he leaves Emma somewhat removed—-at a distance. ” The sex scenes are much shorter in these old 1970s films compared to the interminable never-ending scenes of today; the men get it over with very quickly, which as I mentioned before is much more true to life, in my experience. The stripper who comes on stage (in a manner of speaking) every hour is a delightful interlude and is something all adult cinemas should do I think.

abc_cinema_2015

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to I always laugh in the Ciné ABC at the signs saying optimistically “New films every Wednesday!”

  • I regularly read your observations though I get confused by your sundry personae. I am older than you but enjoy your delight in squalor. My experience is that I don’t get it over with any faster than I used to. I simnply cannot perform repeatedly.”I’m not as good as I once was; but I’m as good once as I ever was”.

    • Trotsky says:

      Not so much sundry personae as sundry years! Fin de Siecle is my writing from 1998, The Diary of Samuel Peeps from 2006, Through the Looking Glass 2010-13, Casanova last year, The Stripper most recent.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I always laugh in the Ciné ABC at the signs saying optimistically “New films every Wednesday!” at Casanova (Lost Wanderings) 2006-2007.

meta

