When I walk around London I take it for granted

December 12, 2016 § Leave a comment

When I walk around London I take it for granted. If I was to see this mixture of amazing new buildings, old pubs and old railway arches in Berlin I would think this is absolutely fantastic! But because it is London I close my eyes to it all and feel nothing. If I lived and worked in Berlin, I could go and spend 3 or 4 days in London and find it absolutely amazing–to visit the Sherlock Holmes house in Baker Street I would think! to visit Pepys Lane! to visit Seething Lane where Pepys lived! to visit Whitechapel and the spots where the Whitechapel Murderer killed his victims I would think! To drink in these old pubs! I hate being tired of London and tired of life, and I think only to leave it would enable it to come back to life for me, and let it become the most staggeringly rich and interesting city in the world that it surely is.
Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading When I walk around London I take it for granted at Casanova (Lost Wanderings) 2006-2007.

meta

