I have loved Elena Prokina since 2005 when I saw her at the Wigmore Hall

December 24, 2016 § Leave a comment

I have loved Elena Prokina since 2005 when I saw her at the Wigmore Hall (after encountering her in Brussels in I Due Foscari and thinking her the most beautiful woman I had ever seen and the most beautiful voice I had ever heard). On her final song at the Wigmore, the final words were ‘I…love…him’ and as she sang these words she turned her head to the very side of the hall where I was sitting against the wall, and looked me straight in the eyes, and held my gaze as the piano accompanist played the last few notes of the song. Only when the last note died and the audience began to rapturously applaud, did she lower her eyes to the ground and look away. I came out of the Wigmore Hall as if I was floating on air, like I had had some orgasm. I have never known a moment like this again, and I do not even feel I am capable of it anymore.

prokina

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I have loved Elena Prokina since 2005 when I saw her at the Wigmore Hall at Casanova (Lost Wanderings) 2006-2007.

meta

