Julian Green’s Paris ‘is a meditation on getting lost and wasting time and on what it truly means to love a city’

December 30, 2016 § Leave a comment

Julian Green’s Paris ‘is a meditation on getting lost and wasting time, and on what it truly means to love a city’. I don’t think you can know a city unless you are sleeping with a girl who comes from the city. Only then does the key to the city unlock the city and it opens to you. I am already jealous hearing other men at the bar talking to the bar girl. This is a good sign; at least I am feeling something. I am, I am starting to feel proprietorial about the bar girl. Nice to feel that, at least. It is good to come to the same place, every few years, in this case Vienna, to see how I myself have changed each time. Every time I have come to Vienna I have been a slightly different person, but only by coming here, and rubbing up against Vienna, as it were, can I measure how I have changed each time.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Julian Green’s Paris ‘is a meditation on getting lost and wasting time and on what it truly means to love a city’ at The Struggle to Stay Married.

meta

