It is funny when I find old notes from previous holidays previously disregarded

January 12, 2017 § Leave a comment

It is funny when I find old notes from previous holidays previously disregarded. When I look back at some trips there may be one or two things that I always remember that trip for, but then when I find my old notes from that trip I find those one or two things were never even mentioned by me at the time. When I put old notes that I have just rediscovered into my book so often they instantly become the best and most powerful part of the book. Munich is really where it all began for me. It is where I was born as a European traveller. I got the Eurostar to Brussels and after taking no more than one step outside the Gare du Midi station into the alien Brussels street, I changed straight on to the night train to Munich. Arriving at the crack of dawn next morning with no German language, no German money, nowhere to stay, that is where I began to learn how to be a traveller. That was the start of my first Grand Tour. I itch to start another (literally & metaphorically).
Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading It is funny when I find old notes from previous holidays previously disregarded at Casanova (Lost Wanderings) 2006-2007.

meta

